Highlights of Radio Show 6/8

 

I’m starting a new thing where I post highlights from our weekly Nuts and Bolts Music radio show, as well as post a spotify playlist. The show airs live Saturday this summer from 11pm-1am on Sunday, on 91.7FM in Austin and streams online at http://kvrx.org/schedule/programs/2691

This week we played music from some of the lesser known, local bands that played at last weekend’s Free Press Summer Fest in Houston. I hadn’t been to FPSF since 2010 and, to be honest, I was kind of worried that the sold-out festival had, well…sold out. Last time I went it was the perfect mix of local talent, interesting national artists, and Houston-flair. Happily, it way exceeded my expectations. Even though it was sold out, unlike crazy large festivals like ACL the crowd size was pretty manageable. I could easily walk around and get a good viewing spot. Plus there were lots of fun perks set up. Jack’d (?), the new cracker jacks mixed nuts, were being promoted really hard so there were free nuts all weekend; Wild Bill’s soda were selling cool mugs with unlimited refills on really good soda; water refill stations were plentiful and accessible;  St. Arnold’s invented a beer specially for the occasion; and  the end of the night on Sunday featured one of the most satisfying fireworks show I’ve seen in some time. It really renewed my faith and love for the scene in Houston, so hats off to the organizers.

 

Dancing with Houston mayor Annise Parker to some Mavis Staples. You know, regular day.

Dancing with Houston mayor Annise Parker to some Mavis Staples. You know, regular day.

 

As festivals tend to go, each day I arrived later than planned, and mostly got stuck seeing bigger artists like Matt and Kim, Passion Pit, The Postal Service (THEY PLAYED A COVER OF BEAT HAPPENING’s “OUR SECRET”  AND IT WAS GLORIOUS), Geto Boys, Gogol Bordello, Arctic Monkeys, etc. So I wanted to use this bit of radio time to explore some of the artists I wish I had seen more of/didn’t get the chance to watch. Even though I spent all two hours of radio on bands from FPSF I barely scratched the surface, so it’s very possible I’m  missing out on some good music. Maybe I’ll go back and do this again some other time, but for now, here are my picks for favorites of the night.

Nick Greer and the G’s: http://nickgreer.bandcamp.com/

  • This self-titled release album is so much fun. Super catchy, pure R&B. Nick Greer is a total Houston nerdboy live, with wild red hair and thick rimmed glasses, but his energy is infectious.

UZOY: http://www.2dopeboyz.com/2011/03/08/uzoy-the-definition-mixtape/

  • Houston rap has a long history of being awesome. It’s about time we had a breakthrough lady. Download this mixtape, you won’t regret it.

 

Deep Cuts: http://deepcuts.bandcamp.com/

  • This Houston band is about to drop a lot of music and I really can’t wait to hear it. I have a soft spot for texas bands that blend Mexican/Tejano styles into indie rock or punk. It feels very relevant and present.

duneTX: http://dunetx.com/av/

  • HOW COME NOBODY TOLD ME ABOUT THESE GUYS BEFORE?!?!?! LOST ’90S WRENS-ESQUE POP-ROCK FROM HOUSTON?!?!?! I’m  legitimately mad that this is the first I’ve ever heard of these guys. Same thing happened to me the first time someone introduced me to Shudder to Think. The album goldenARM is perfection. I’m seriously thinking about doing an artist-hour where I play nothing but duneTX later this month.

A SEA ES: https://soundcloud.com/a-sea-es

  • Not gonna lie I don’t know anything about this band but these recordings surprised me. “Big Grin” hits hard.

DJ SUN: https://soundcloud.com/dj-sun

  • DJ Sun’s been doing the Soular Grooves Radio Show on KPFT for hella long. Excellent mixes to save for the next time you’re cooking dinner.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

